Very Important News

I’m very pleased to announce that I am the Auckland Libraries Sir George Grey Researcher in Residence for 2016/2017. For my residency I’ll be researching the Jazz Age in Auckland. This project is part of a longer on-going project on the Jazz Age in New Zealand, which I’m hoping that will be published as a book at some point- but first things first, I get to do research on all aspects of the 1920s. Since I’m a jazz historian at heart jazz in all its forms is going to be central to this research, but I’ll also be using ‘jazz’ to examine how New Zealand society changed across the decade. I’m looking forward to sharing my research journey with you on both my blogs- NZ jazz and Jazz Historian After Hours (what gets posted where depends on the exact topic- but I’ll post links and tweet about it). If anyone out there has any ephemera/information on 1920s New Zealand (especially Auckland) please leave a comment below or tweet at me.

8 comments

  1. lancesua · · Reply

    Congratulations Aleisha. What a great opportunity for you. Kind regards, Lance Sua

  2. Huge congrats, Aleisha. This simply MUST be a book one day. Enjoy it, work hard and have fun.
    Caroline xx

  3. Congratulations, Aleisha! This is fabulous news—I’m so happy for you!

  4. Shelley Styles · · Reply

    Hi
    My grandfathers family were the Kirk Family band based in Christchurch in the early 1910-1920s. Two of his brothers were Pom Pom Periots sic in WW1. They played music at the picture theater before talkies came his only Sister sung soprano and his oldest brother composed music to match the action/romance or whatever was up on screen. This is all I know about them but the could have played Jazz halls my cousin Lynne Nicholson might have more information you can reach her at Open Polytechnic Wellington

    1. Hi,
      Thanks for the congrats and the information- I’ll definitely check them out!

  5. Claire Scott · · Reply

    Brilliant news Aleisha, and absolutely deserved. Claire

Leave a Reply

