So, what’s going on here

As you may have noticed, not much has been happening on the front page lately. That’s because most of my efforts have been over on the Got A Little Rhythm page. My article ‘Got A Little Rhythm? The Australian influence on swing in New Zealand in the 1930s and 1940s’ appeared in the special issue of Jazz Research Journal on Australasian jazz (v 8.1-2 2014), which came out late last year. The essay collection associated with that issue ‘Antipodean Riffs: Essays on Australasian Jazz’ (ed. Bruce Johnson, Equinox 2016) has just appeared, so I’ve been attempting to get that page a little (lot!) more fleshed out. If you haven’t taken a look, please do- just because it’s associated with a particular article/essay doesn’t mean that you need to have read it. I’ve made the page readable for everyone as I know a lot of people won’t be able to get hold of either the journal or the book. There are profiles on some influential Australian musicians (and soon-ish some related New Zealand musicians, I hope), sections on jazz on New Zealand radio, New Zealand’s summer jazz mecca, profiles on some important cabarets and more to come.

At the moment it’s just a scroll down thing, but I’m hoping soon that I’ll be able to get fancy and do some hypertext links so you can just click on a title in the contents and go to that section. I just have to figure out how to do that (if anyone knows please let me know!)

Also- just gone up- is a new page called Auckland’s Jazz Heritage. This is going to be a page that’s associated with a couple of talks I’m doing- one for International Jazz Day at the end of April and one for New Zealand Music Month in May. There’s nothing there yet, but I’ll be putting snippets of Auckland’s jazz history- including links to the relevant Audioculture articles I’ve written- photos and hopefully some links to sound files (and video) of Auckland jazz being performed. So keep an eye out on that in the next couple of months as I start to fill it out.

2 comments

  1. Hey! That sounds exciting…where do I go to read it? Caroline xx

    1. Hi Caroline, the page menu’s at the top of the page- just under the header photo, just click on Got a Little Rhythm and it’ll take you to the very long page full of 1930s/1940s NZ swing related information! I’ll post an update for the Auckland Jazz Heritage stuff when I’ve got something in there!

Leave a Reply

